About Silent World

webstie2_工作區域 1.png

Four ITB STEM interns from HKBU, PolyU and CUHK recorded the journey of Nora in co-founding "Silent World".

 

Text/ Katherine@PolyU

Editor/ SWCL

Silent World Co. Limited (SWCL) is a design company aiming at the international market. They mainly focus on B2B/B2G works - B2B (Business to Business) is a transaction between enterprises instead of personal.

On servicing level, SWCL provides their beloved clients with graphic design, comic creation, multimedia production, product design, etc.; existing customers include brand companies, governmental bodies and charities.

1-08.png
1-09.png

About the Co-Founder

 

Nora takes challenges well after being bullied for years as a Deaf person. Before the COVID era, not only she “sang K” with mates, but also taught herself to dance, and learned to play guitar with the teacher from indie band Franklin Telescope. Nora was born this way. She memorized chord fingerings and used a phone app to tune her guitar.

 

Growing up, Nora has realized that the society was hostilistic to Deaf people. However, with emotional support from famous public figures like Justin Lo (producer, songwriter, singer), Ali Lee (actor, artist), Stanley Wong (share market analyst). Nora gradually developed trust in people and then she sees the world differently: the world is silent, but some people are speaking up with their attitudes.

In daily life, if you have one convo with Nora using multiple languages and dialects at the same time, it may affect Nora's understanding. "WETV Accessible Media" funded by Community Chest have made these life stories into interesting short films forus to learn more.

 

Of course looking for a job was unreasonably difficult for Nora. It is often that when an employer is informed Nora is a Deaf person, they stop considering to hire her, regardless the fact that Nora is awesome at photography, drawing, digital marketing, etc. On a personal level, Nora has a good reputation among friends: diligent, always delivering, can-do spirit, witty and generous.

 

2-08.png
1-11.png

Finally when Nora’s got a job! However, getting along with colleagues has also become a constant challenge. Nora doesn't necessarily know when she's working with a computer and colleagues might be talking to her - at her back, literally. Over time, Nora felt that it was not easy to blend in.

Be the change you want to see

 

In fact, the “trick” to getting along with Nora is as plain as you can imagine: look at her, let her see your verbal movement, that’s it. Even the pandemic has become the new normal that some people are wearing masks, you’ve got e-meeting tools, instant messaging tools - basically you don’t have to change a thing for Nora - you do your part and Nora will do the rest.

 

After accumulating more than five years of work experience, Nora incorporated Silent World Co. Limited (SWCL) in 2020. There has been a lack of resources, such as office operations, hiring staff, and purchasing basic equipment for R&D. Nora then listened, made good use of relevant public fundings, worked hard to fill out the forms for her company, and practiced interviews so that the evaluation team could understand Nora’s words. In August 2020, SWCL became a member company of the "Design Entrepreneurship Incubation Program" and received two-year funding and training.

2-11.png

In pursuit of a perfect world, by the imperfect

 

Perfection is what drives Nora's work. Nora hopes that companies and institutions can make good use of her story, so that teachers and students can get to know the Deaf, students of SEN and the misunderstood, so that her previous experience will not be repeated. She also hopes to promote the mutual understanding of the Deaf and hearing. For example, while Deaf people practice speaking and lip reading, hearing people can talk clearly, avoid mixing languages ​​at the same time (such as Chinese and English), and make good use of body language, etc.

 

Spanish painter Dali had said: "Don't be afraid of perfection, no one can achieve it anyway". This philosophy constructs an infinite space that keeps people like Nora moving forward, and is reflected in our works for you.

S601, CITA, 63 Tai Yip Street, Kowloon Bay, Hong Kong

+852 5725 6866

創業小故事 — 無聲世界

webstie2_工作區域 1.png

分別來自浸大、理大及中大的四位 ITB STEM 冬季實習員,紀錄 Nora 與拍擋創辦「無聲世界」的心路歷程:

 

文/Katherine@PolyU

編/Editorial

無聲世界有限公司 Silent World Co. Limited (SWCL) 是以國際市場為長遠目標的設計公司。他們以 B2B 業務為主 — B2B (Business to Business) 是企業間透過電子商務的方式進行交易;企業利用網際網路來支援企業與企業之間各種買賣的資訊流、商流、金流、物流的經營流程與架構。例如:SWCL 會為其他企業提供平面設計、漫畫創作、多媒體製作、產品設計等;現有客戶包括著名企業及慈善機構。

1-08.png
1-09.png

在人生的旅途上,Nora 十分樂意挑戰自己。疫情前,她不僅與朋友唱K,亦自學跳舞、跟獨立樂隊 Franklin Telescope 老師學習彈結他。Nora 因天生聽力缺損而難以分辨彈奏對錯。她死記和弦指法,並用手機程式為結他調音。

 

成長經歷使 Nora 體會社會對聾人不太友善,人們常帶著有色眼鏡。然而,香港歌星側田曾聽聞 Nora 很喜愛他的作品,便與 Nora 於演唱會後台短聚。言談間,側田更眼泛淚光,送給 Nora 一個擁抱。香港藝員李佳芯 (Ali) 亦曾與 Nora 等效遊,非常友善。這些經歷,也令 Nora 感受到「世界無聲,人間有情」。

日常生活中,如果交談對象說話時中英夾雜,就會影響Nora理解對話內容;「WETV 無障礙媒體」為 Nora 將這些生活小故事拍成了有趣的短片。

 

找工作對 Nora 而言,「唔使講都估到」,波折重重;常見是,當僱主知道她是聾人,就不考慮聘請;那怕她「配置」多種技能:由攝影、執相、造圖、digital marketing 等,都有豐富實戰經驗,並在朋友之間有良好聲譽:工作勤快,為人機智幽默,形象大方得體(有DD靚咁)。

2-08.png
1-11.png

好了。終於找到工作了!然而,Nora 跟同事的相處,也成為恆常挑戰。當她長時間面向電腦工作,而同事在她身後談天或呼喚她,她並不一定知道。久而久之,Nora 感到不容易融入環境,或予人自我封閉的誤解。

 

其實與Nora 相處的竅門,可謂尋常:面向她,讓她看到你的口型,知道你在說話。即使疫情新常態,E-meeting 成為主流,都是大同小異。

「唔想咁樣,可以點樣?」

 

累積超過五年工作經驗後,Nora 於2020年註冊成立Silent World Co. Limited(SWCL)。創業初期,資源缺乏,例如辦公室運營,聘請職員,添置基本器材等擴展。Nora 遂聆聽意見,善用相關公共資助,努力填寫表格,練習面試,讓評估團可以聽懂 Nora 的表達。2020年8月,SWCL成為「設計創業培育計劃」成員公司,接受為期兩年的資助及培訓。

2-11.png

不完美的人,追求完美世界

 

力臻完善是 Nora 工作的動力。 Nora 希望企業及機構善用她的故事,讓師生可以認識聾人,令她以前的經歷不再重演。她希望促進聾人與健聽人士共融,例如聾人練習說話、讀唇語之同時,健聽人與之交談時,可以稍為放慢速度、避免同時混雜語言(例如中英夾雜)、善用肢體語言等等,讓彼此溝通更順暢。

西班牙畫家達利 (Dali) 嘗言:「不要害怕完美,反正無人能做到」。

這哲思構建了無限的空間,讓我們永恆前進,並反映在我們的作品當中。

S601, CITA, 63 Tai Yip Street, Kowloon Bay, Hong Kong

+852 5725 6866